Oceans.

The thing I love most about the ocean is that each day it erases. Every time the tide comes in, it creates something beautiful. I like to think this is God, producing a masterpiece for us to admire each day, only for a day though, before the tide and the wind washes it all away like a blank cavas, refreshed. This makes me think to the way God erases it all, renews us, washes our sin, allowing us to be something beautiful. Each wave that rolls in and draws backs out, like a voice calling it home, brings new treausures, these literally being new shells. But figurately each new day brings a new opportunity or experience, a kalediscope of choices and opportunities all at our fingertips.

Sometimes the most beautiful things are not meant to last forever, they are beautiful because of their fleeting esscence. I have learned this greatly throughout the past year or so, as people, things come in and out of our life. I think this contributes to the idea that taking things for granted is wasteful, hurtful even. Enjoy what you have when you have it. I am already dreading the days when I have to part with my family and leave for college. Never again will I live in the same house as my sister or parents [hopefully 🙂 ]. While this is exciting, I know it is somber. I am going to miss our family grocery shopping, which I currently dread, or our evenings where we all sit around and watch Jeopardy. While this may seem embarassing or even silly now, I know I will miss this.

While this new path, new shorline I am about to take on is exciting, it is also new and unfamiliar and once I start down this road, I can never turn back. This just adds to the idea that beauty, love, happiness is fleeting. It’s never perfect, it isn’t supposed to be. If it was, then we wouldn’t appreciate its beauty as much.

In the cold dark of night the waves beat at the shore, creating its next unknown masterpiece. Each day the shorline is different, like how no snowflake is alike. Each day is a chance for something new, something beautiful. That being said the waves will beat the shore and there will be struggles. It will hurt, thats how you know you are alive. How do you know love if you have never felt hate. How do you know good if you have never seen bad.

Be open to change, you’ll never know what it could bring. Nothing is permenant, nothing is forever. Nor good nor bad, it will pass. It is all about perspective. So I say, let the tide roll in, let the waves crash onto the shore, bring it on.

-JG

Leave a comment