Trials of Tough Times

I strongly believe in the band Bon Jovi, not just because they are my favorite band that I have idolized since my youth, but also for what they stand for. Even though they may have “gone downhill” in some critic’s eyes, their music tells tales of hope and faith even in the hardest tests of time. While these songs were written in the 80’s, in a different time, a different place, their meanings and inspiring words of hope are applicable to every time period every place during almost any circumstance. Songs like “These Days” or “Keep The Faith” or even “Livin On A Prayer” inspire people to keep moving forward even when everything is failing you. They tell tales of the harsh realities of life as a story protesting the failure within giving up.


When I was younger my mother and I used to sit in our living room watching the Bon Jovi “Crush Live In Concert” VHS tape over and over again. Sometimes we would paint our toenails, other times we would rock out and dance and sing along. This started my life long long love of Jon Bon Jovi. I had Bon Jovi shirts, hats, posters, even dog tags that i would wear around. When I first learned to play the guitar the first song I  learned was “Wanted Dead or Alive”. Most importantly, it developed a bond between my mother and I.

Even when my father lost his job and things looked down, I could always count on the words of “Livin On A Prayer” to lift my spirits: “we got each other and that’s a lot for love” or “we’ll make it I swear”. We would jam out in our car or in our living room and I knew in that moment that everything would be okay. That moment of relief and just forgetting about everything that is going on for just a few minutes of the day is priceless. I still value this and jam out even to this day, usually it is in my car with all my windows down :).


I believe that Bon Jovi, even in the band’s current situation, with their older age, their record label drop, and their guitar player’s absence, is an inspiration. If not for their achievements but also their perseverance. Even the lead singer, John Bon Jovi in one of his later songs “God Bless This Mess” sings the words “My voice is shot I’m going grey”. Rather than shying away from the realities of old age or trying to be something they are not, the youthful young rock band, the group addresses these realities with a blunt honesty. They may not be the same as they were 30years ago and that’s okay. They still have hope and faith that things can only get better from here. Their latest album “This House is Not For Sale” is full of tracks that embody this mentality. Their experiences and their music shine like a beacon to others who are struggling, whatever their circumstances may be. It pushes them to keep the faith and to just keep on moving forward.